Skip to content

January 6, 2012

11

Speak to the Kite –Kite Whispering vs. Verbal Abuse

by flykitesports

This past week something funny happened, the wind died.  Ordinarily that isn’t funny because it means an epic swim a very long waddle across the tundra with your kite under your arm.  This weekend was the tundra walk.  After our family regrouped at the Vee- dub-you-a (Volkswagen van) I walked up to my daughter who was still stubbornly trying to re-launch her kite.  As I approached her I realized she was saying some very colorful things to the kite as sweat fogged her goggles.

I took a moment to assess the situation and the solution came to me.  I asked her if I could hook up to the kite and she gladly handed me the chicken loop and leash.  As we made the switch I told her the kite would only respond if you say nice things to it. I then proceeded to tell the kite how pretty and what a good kite it was.  I took a deep breath reached above the stopper ball and gave a huge but smooth pull to the centerlines and the kite drifted slowly upward.  I carefully flew and steered the kite the remaining 100 or so feet to the “landing zone” and landed it.

My daughter looked at me incredulously and asked’ “Are you serious?  I can’t believe that just happened.”

I laughingly responded, “Darling you get more flies with honey than vinegar, pun intended.” as I wound the lines up.

What my daughter did not know was I had seen a kite, far off in the distance, up wind float off the snow as I walked over to her.  She had been too busy berating her kite with creative language to notice the gentle and short-lived breeze headed our way.  I had just enough time to hook in and whisper some sweet nothings before I performed my light wind hot launch, I love those random opportunities that happen along to help underline my point, and I am still chuckling about it.

Read more from BUZZ
11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Feb 20 2012

    I discovered your blog web site on google and check a few of your early posts. Proceed to keep up the very good operate. I simply additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Looking for forward to studying more from you in a while!…

    Reply
    • Feb 24 2012

      Thank you for the comments, hopefully you will not be disappointed with my future posts!

      Reply
  2. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would definitely benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Appreciate it!

    Reply
    • Feb 24 2012

      I would be honored if you quoted and used some of my work. I would love to look at your blog, do you have an address I can go to? It looks like you are in Europe, I would love to learn from what you are doing and be able to check out your kite life. Thank you so much for asking for permission to use some of my material, it is very honorable of you.

      Reply
  3. Feb 15 2012

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

    Reply
    • Feb 15 2012

      Wow, I am glad you enjoyed the posts and thank you for your nice comment. -Mel.

      Reply
  4. Feb 14 2012

    Usually I do not read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice post.

    Reply
    • Feb 15 2012

      Thanks for visiting my blog, I am glad you liked the posts, hopefully I can keep entertaining you in the future!

      Reply
  5. Feb 10 2012

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!

    Reply
    • Feb 15 2012

      Thank you for your nice comments. I just started blogging in December and I am really enjoying the process. I used Traction as theme so I think the theme designers deserve a lot of the credit for the look of the blog.

      Reply
  6. Feb 10 2012

    Valuable information. Lucky me I found your website by accident, and I’m shocked why this accident didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

